Some people can’t run a Marathon?

I recently stumbled over an article about endurance running and genetics. Scientist found a number of genes, responsible for whether or not being able to run a marathon. There is even a test available to find out whether it’s worth to try it. You have to know, the weather today is terrible, cold, windy and raining and for today there is actually a 90min endurance run on my plan – so is this study a good reason to call it off?

Critically thinking: this sounded more like an excuse than reasonable explanation, so I started to dig deeper.

It didn’t take long to find more related articles and to gather some information. I found two statements on which I wanted to find more evidence either for or against them.

  • according to the article, almost 20% lack the ability to run a marathon due the mismatched genes.
  • 20% can’t finish a marathon in the time they want to, regardless how hard they train.

Perusing articles from a variety of sources I came to the following conclusion:

  • There is definitely a predetermination, possibly  by genetics. This is what I would describe as ‘talents’. Each individual is born with a different skill set, I think that makes it actually quite interesting.  It certainly leads to the fact, that some achieve their athletic aims easier than others. And I also agree that some will never run a marathon in 2h30, however hard they train, but that is to compare with ‘not being able’ to finish one. Finishing has to do mainly with attitude and persistence.
  • The second statement, well I think I can agree on. Whatever time a finisher gets, they always think about how they could have been quicker.

So, back to genetics, I made up my mind. I keep it like this: Mind over matter, if you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.

And as ‘no pain – no gain’ implies – I’m out now.

 

 

One thought on “Some people can’t run a Marathon?

  1. Hahaha! “If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter” love it! Enjoy your run.

    I want to commit, I have ‘recycled’ Mark Twain. He said. or wrote: “Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

